OKLAHOMA CITY (July 26, 2016) ─ The American Banjo Museum is pleased to announce this year’s inductees into the American Banjo Museum Hall of Fame: J.D. Crowe, Five-String Performance; Pat Terry, Jr., Four-String Performance; George Formby, Historical; Deering Banjo Company, Design & Manufacture and Alfred Greathouse, Instruction & Education.


“Each year we strive to honor banjo’s best from the past and present and this year is no exception,” said Johnny Baier, executive director, American Banjo Museum. “Like past inductees, each of this year’s honorees has displayed a lifelong commitment to the banjo.”   The Hall of Fame induction ceremony will take place on Friday, Sept. 9th amid a weekend of concerts and festivities.


Everything kicks-off with a Welcome Reception and Bar-B-Que from 6-10pm on Thursday, September 8th at the American Banjo Museum, 9 E. Sheridan Avenue in downtown Oklahoma City. The evening will feature music by the Byron Berline Band as well as a tribute to legendary Oklahoma banjoist John Hickman.


The 2016 American Banjo Museum Hall of Fame ceremonies will take place from 6-10pm on Friday, September 9th at VAST located in Devon Tower. This formal event will feature a reception, dinner and the Hall of Fame induction ceremony with musical performances by honorees and other celebrity guests.


The party starts back up from noon to 5pm on Saturday, September 10th with performances at the American Banjo Museum by new Hall of Fame member Pat Terry, Jr. with Randy Morris and others.







That evening, the festivities continue with BANJO FEST, a very special concert the Hudiburg Chevrolet Performing Arts Theater at Rose State College in Midwest City. Performers will include jazz banjo icon Cynthia Sayer, four-time national banjo champion Gary “Biscuit” Davis, visionary acoustic artists Mark Johnson & Emory Lester and, all the way from England, delightful vaudevillian Andy Eastwood. 


The weekend concludes with a post-concert Afterglow Party at the American Banjo Museum from 10 p.m. until midnight.


“Our Hall of Fame celebration brings people from across the globe to Oklahoma City,” said Baier. “The international music spotlight is on our city and, as all of our Hall of Fame weekend events are open to the public, it’s a great opportunity for Oklahoma City to really show its support.”


The National Four-String Banjo Hall of Fame was established in 1998 to honor jazz age four-string banjo pioneers as well as the contemporary artists, educators, manufacturers and promoters who carried on the traditions of their predecessors. The American Banjo Museum was, in its infancy, an extension of that Hall of Fame. In the years preceding 2014, the Hall of Fame honored 71 individuals and entities in the four-string banjo world whose career accomplishments might have otherwise gone unrecognized.


As the museum grew and evolved to embrace all types of banjos and playing styles, it became clear that the Hall of Fame should evolve as well. As such, in 2013, the American Banjo Museum Board of Directors voted to establish an annual performance category to honor all styles of five-string banjo playing as well as opening the other previously four-string banjo exclusive non-performance categories to all types of banjos. With this move the American Banjo Museum Hall of Fame was established.


At the American Banjo Museum, the artistry that goes into crafting highly ornate instruments and the skill and talent that goes into playing them is on full display. The American Banjo Museum brings history and art together in a song hundreds of years in the making. 


For tickets, prices or more information on the Hall of Fame weekend, upcoming events, or to become a member of the American Banjo Museum, visit americanbanjomuseum.com or call (405) 604-2793.