OKLAHOMA CITY – The 2024 Oklahoma Historical Society Awards Banquet will be held on Thursday, March 21, at the Oklahoma History Center in Oklahoma CityA cocktail reception begins at 6 p.m., and dinner and the awards program will follow at 6:30 p.m.


The following awards will be presented:

Oklahoma Historians Hall of Fame
Hannibal B. Johnson
Debra Echo-Hawk


Guardian of History Award
Rep. Bob Ed Culver – Tahlequah
Sen. Kevin Matthews – Tulsa


E. E. Dale Award
Outstanding Book on Oklahoma History

“Built from the Fire: The Epic Story of Tulsa’s Greenwood District, America’s Black Wall Street” by Victor Luckerson

Muriel H. Wright Award
Outstanding Article Published in “The Chronicles of Oklahoma”

“The Influence of Oklahomans on the Bakersfield Sound: One of Country Music’s Greatest Eras” by Phil Neighbors (Spring 2023)


Bruce T. Fisher Award
Outstanding Oklahoma History Project

Gardens on Blue Hawk Peak

Pawnee, Oklahoma


Linda Williams Reese Award
Outstanding Dissertation or Thesis on Oklahoma History

“‘The Modern Frontier’: Oklahoma Settler Memory in the mid-Twentieth Century” by Martha Beliveau, University of Oklahoma


Joseph B. Thoburn Award
Outstanding Student Historian

Adrian Pan, Oklahoma School of Science and Mathematics

William D. Pennington Award
Outstanding Social Studies Teacher

Jaime Lee, Bixby Middle School


Tulsa County Commissioner and OHS Board Member Karen Keith will serve as the emcee for the event. Cocktail attire is requested, and guests must RSVP by March 11.


Individual tickets are available for purchase online for $100 and include one ticket to the reception and banquet. Tables are available for $1,000 and include eight reception tickets, a banquet table for eight and the person’s name or business listed on the printed program and OHS website. For more information regarding sponsorships, please reach out to Brittney Berling, OHS development officer, at 405-522-0317 or brittney.berling@history.ok.gov. Proceeds from this event will go toward the Emily Bell Endowment Fund, which benefits the John and Eleanor Kirkpatrick Research Center at the Oklahoma History Center.

The mission of the Oklahoma Historical Society is to collect, preserve and share the history and culture of the state of Oklahoma and its people. Founded in 1893 by members of the Territorial Press Association, the OHS maintains museums, historic sites and affiliates across the state. Through its research archives, exhibits, educational programs and publications the OHS chronicles the rich history of Oklahoma. For more information about the OHS, please visit www.okhistory.org.